• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Perfection! Feedback Please

This topic is 3929 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Well I'm just getting started designing games and I wanted to know everyones ideas on formatting a design. I think I'm pretty decent with coming up with great ideas however it dosn't matter how good the idea is if no one can understand it. I've heard a few examples on story boarding and out lines but they both have to do with drawing. I can think and write ideas and explain visuals pretty well but I can't draw to save my life, not even roughly. Even my handwriting is terrible. Baring all that in mind, every design I come up with ends up being a sort of mechanical sounding (a weak attempt to save space) summary of a great game. There's good ideas but in a professional setting I don't believe I'd get by. Could someone give me an example of outlining? A good example of what I do now is this(the story is off the top of my head but the mechanics are real):
Story of The Sword
A 3rd person action RPG revolving around a young man named Shiro and his battles against the evil empire. Shiro has been a mercenary all of his life and every mercenary is given a blade called a Jungo. In usual RPGs, the weapons don't take any essential role.Usually the character starts off with a rather weak weapon then as they progress they either buy or earn a more powerful one then what they used before. One mechanic of this title is that the sword is an actual part of this character. There are slots simalar to in FF7..... The above would go on explaining every aspect of the game (with a much better, planned out story of course, but the point was to see my formatting). This is the most comfortable method I can come up with but I would like to learn to be more professional if this isn't genarally accepted.

Advertisement