Where to start?

Started by
28 comments, last by CarlosNYM 16 years, 8 months ago
Hello everyone! I am an aspiring video game maker, like many others on this site, but I guess you could hardly call me aspiring because I am very new to this subject. I am a sophmore in highschool and I only have 1 year of &#106avascript/HTML experience but ever since I took the class I have wanted to jump into the world of coding and being a gamer myself making video games. Even though I am new, I realize that making games is insanely hard and takes a lot of hard work and experience. But I am willing to work at it if it means I could acctually make a game. Before reading my questions I wanted to say that I have read the FAQ on Beginners at this site but I still have a few questions. What language should I use? Now, I know that know one can tell me a definite answer but theres a couple I am thinking about. I started doing C++ but I haven't learned much, just loops and strings and condition statments and all that noob stuffso maybe I should continue there. I could do Java but I am going to learn that in school next year. I could do C# because of the XNA program but I'm not sure if thats really a starter language and I don't own an XBOX 360. One more thing, The more I do tutorials for C++, the more I'm confused on how these apply to video games. I learn these lessons but all im getting is Numbers and phrases in a command prompt. I know you can't expect to deal with graphics so quickly but I was wondering whether there are any good tutorials out there for any of these languages pertainng to game development. Thank you very much for any help I can get. I look forward to being a member here and getting to make some fun games!
Advertisement
the way C++ applies to video games is that you use "alternative libraries" for things like graphics.