• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
dist0rted

c++ "interfaces"... what are they?

This topic is 4077 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been programming in C++ for about five years now, and I feel retarded because I don't even know what makes an interface different from a class. I've done a brief google search and not found anything, but perhaps someone can give me a simple answer to end my stupidity?

Advertisement
Interfaces are keywords in some languages. In C++ they probably exist as keywords in C++/.NET, but more than likely it's just a generic phrase to describe the common, unchanging publicly visible bits of a class or group of classes. Most often (depending on the context) it refers to a (usually abstract) base class which acts as those publicly defined bits that other classes may inherit from and then implement.

Programming languages such as C# and Java have "interfaces" which consist (in C++ terminology) solely of public pure-virtual functions. That is, they define a contract, which a class can choose to implement by subclassing the interface and providing implementations for the functions. In C++ there's no explicit interface keyword, but the concept is the same.

The interface is part that is publicly visable. If you have an API the interface is the publicly useable part. For a class it is the part declared public. For libraries the interface is usally kept static so that people don't have to relearn everything for the next release of the library.

so, basically, an interface is meant for every part of its data to be inherited into the next generation of classes? Like it's sole purpose is to be a "IAnimal" for the "IDog" and "ICat"?