• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
BrianH

Terrain discussion - large areas with high altitudes

This topic is 4155 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am not new to 3D graphics however I am a relative noob when it comes to terrain rendering. One thing that has always dissappointed me about past, present and upcoming games (rpg / mmorpg specifically) is the terrain seems relatively "flat". Now, by that I don't mean everything looks like an open meadow, but rather that the mountains and hills feel artifically small. I am taking a guess here, but I assume this is because most terrain systems use heightmaps, which have an obvious limitation to their height resolution - basically, 256 levels? So, if I wanted to create a mountain that was actually 10,000 ft high, my height resolution would be around 39ft/level... which would be pretty crappy. So, are there terrain systems out there that have overcome this limitation? I know there has been a good amount of work in 'planet rendering' but do they do well down to the ground level? Would it require forgoing heightmaps for procedurally generated terrain? Or, could each heightmap carry a height offset value with it? What would be/are some of the obstacles? One I can see would be just rendering the view from up high, where you would generally need to show further distances (ie more polys) to have the desired impact. Also, what about lakes and rivers? You couldnt just set a water plane, becuase what good are enormous mountains without those pristene glacial lakes? I am guessing they would need a more sophisticated placement method. Well, those are my ramblings for the moment. Would love to hear other's ideas. -BrianH

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by BrianH