(flower blooming) done...code inside

Started by
36 comments, last by jpetrie 7 years, 11 months ago
hi everybody, i am thinking of drawing a closed flower of 3 ellipses, then rotate the ellipses , and then scale the elipses (to show that it is blooming) here is a picture of what i have in mind, of course it will be in 2D Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket first, any idea of how to draw the ellipse? i studied algorithms of doing that, but the code will be long and have many loops, is there a function to draw an ellipse or even a circle??? function or header file (library) or an easy way?? im working on c++ and just tell me, is it gonna be difficult for a beginner like me to do it?? [Edited by - love247 on July 29, 2007 7:50:18 AM]
Advertisement
Which compiler are you using? at the mo i mite not be much help as i cant get anything under the sun to work in VS but if you are going to do it in openGL i might be able to help, i would recommend for something like this to do it in flash or another animating program but if your doing it as a practice for openGL then i would do a circle, or settle for a rather jagged elipse as curved stuff is kinda advanced its not even mentioned in my openGL book till chapter 14.

if your happy with a circle you could use a quadratic (still chapter 13 stuff) as this is relatively easy but not the most efficient!

second if your happy with jagged just use something like
glBegin(GL_POLYGON);
glVertex2f(0.0f,0.0f)
glEnd();