• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Zazz

OpenGL gl Push & Pop Matrix not working?

This topic is 4071 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everyone. I'm just getting into OpenGL using VideoTutorialsRock.com and a couple of books. Most problems I get I manage to fix on my own. But a program I've been making has a slight glitch that I can't figure out. My program loops through a list of existing 'objects' and draws the shape (using simple custom makeCube/makeSquare etc functions) to the position held by the object. This works perfectly fine for a single object. When multiple objects are drawn though, they are positioned relitive to the last object drawn, even though the loop starts with glPushMatrix() and ends with glPopMatrix(). It's as if glPushMatrix() and glPopMatrix() where never there! (Does exactly the same when I comment them out) I apologise if this comes out wrong. There isn't a [ code ] button and this is my first post here :p _________________________________________________
//Loop through the list of existing objects
	for (game.objIter = game.objects.begin(); game.objIter != game.objects.end(); game.objIter++)
	{
		Object *temp = *game.objIter; //temp pointer to current object

//Move to the objects position
		glPushMatrix(); //Save current translation
		glTranslatef(temp->getPosX(), temp->getPosY(), temp->getPosZ());

//Check the current object's shape
		switch(temp->getShape())
		{
		case square:
			makeSquare();
				break;
		case cube:
			makeCube();
				break;
		case triangle:
			makeTriangle();
				break;
		case pyramid:
			makePyramid();
				break;
		}

//Delete the temp pointer
		temp = NULL; delete temp;

glPopMatrix(); //Restore last position
	}