• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Nichiyoobiko

OpenGL Shadowmapping onto a sphere

This topic is 4072 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello! I programmed a little game. The level is a small sphere which I'd like to shadowmap. I tried to use the tutorial at: http://www.paulsprojects.net/tutorials/smt/smt.html where I render the scene three times. The problem I have now is, that the shadowmap is projected four times on my sphere and I don't know why. I'm a real noob on this subject. I am using OpenGL and no shaders (this is the next thing I want to learn ;) ) This is how it looks like: Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us The textures of the objects aren't displayed correctly either. THX for your help in advance! [Edited by - Nichiyoobiko on July 27, 2007 1:40:58 AM]

Advertisement
I'm surprised no one answered you yet. I had a suggestion but it was a hassle to renew my account (but now I just registered for another).

I think you're forgetting that you need to convert from the coordinates that you get from the projective texture matrix, which range from -1 to 1, to texture coordinates which range from 0 to 1. Look through that tutorial for the parts that mention biasMatrix. Paul wasn't that explicit with that step but it's important. Did you leave that out?

If the texture is the "dark ball", the only thing that comes to mind is to check the texture addressing mode. The default is WRAP but for projective texturing CLAMP or CLAMP_TO_EDGE is more useful.
What's the addressing mode?