Sign in to follow this  

Game Engine Dilemma

This topic is 3783 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone, this is my first post :D. I am having a dilemma about a game engine I am building. Its my first attempt at a full engine, its written in c++ and uses DirectX. I keep changing the structure back and forth, but I have to choose one way and stick to it. Okay here it is: My engine is divided into devices and objects. For example: Devices: Graphics, Input, SoundManager etc. Objects: Images, Sprite, Sound etc. Now, here is the dilemma A) Should I have functionality in the actual objects or the devices? Ex. When I create an image or a sprite, should that object have functions for loading and drawing? Or should the Graphics device hold those functions? If the functionality is in the image object, it would look like this. Image.Initialize( GraphicsDevice, filepath, x, y); etc. Image.Draw( x, y); If its done like this than any object that needs a device to perform its operation will have to hold a pointer to the device as a member of the class, or it could be passed into parameters like this: Image.Draw( GraphicsDevice, x, y); ...because the image needs access to the device to draw. B) OR.......Should I percolate functionality upwards into the actual device? Ex. The device controls the operations of the object which need the device.. Image image = Graphics.CreateImage( filepath, useMask) .....etc. That eliminates the need to have a pointer to the device in every single object that needs it, or passing it in as a parameter all the time. Also.... Graphics.Draw( Image imgName); ** no need to pass in the device However, functions that do not require the device like: Image.GetHeight(); ....should maybe stay within the object itself? ********************** This is the dilemma. Keep functionality with the objects? Or move it up in