Sign in to follow this  

game development questions

This topic is 3789 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a newbie and just have some newbie questions that most of you would probably consider stupid questions. But please just bear with me and my inquiries. Are all top of the line games (S.T.A.L.K.E.R., HalfLife2, World of Warcraft, etc.) made from scratch using coding languages such as C+, C#, or javascript? If so then they're development teams must be HUGE (like 50 people) to complete games like that in the amount of time that they do. Right? And do they use modeling programs to make their 3d models or do they use the coding for all that too. I understand that games have engines, however I do not understand what the engine is in relevance to the game. How do game engines differ, etc. If you guys could clear this up for me I'd really appreciate it. I have done some modding with Freelancer. The game is extremely easy to modify since all that is required is understanding the .ini files and how they work. Hierarchy type of stuff in a way. Once you understand where to look, its almost becomes second nature. I was wondering if it was possible to make a game entirely with .ini files. Does this differ from the game engine or is it part of it? I am considering about learning the Dark Basic Pro language and have been reading around in forums. People are either for Dark Basic Pro and say its excellent for learning or are against it and say that it is extremely handicapped. I have also been considering C# and downloaded Visual C# Express edition from the Microsoft Website but have read somewhere that I should use Visual C# .NET. Whats the difference? As you can see I'm quite confused. I really don't know where to start and would like to know more about programming and game development before rushing in. Any and ALL help is greatly ap