Sign in to follow this  
Emmanuel Deloget

"Shade Your World" shading contest

XDigital    181
Hmm, it's definitly not the theme I expected. Expecially because I have no knowledge concerning shaders. It seems that gamedev forces us to keep up with the time. Ok, it is hardware dependant, but is it platform dependant, too? Do we have to use MS Windows, or am I allowed to stick with Ubuntu?
Enquiring
XDigital

superpig    1825
Your submission has to run inside FX Composer 2, which to my knowledge doesn't run on any platform other than Windows.

(BTW, this is not a replacement for 4E6. 4E6 will be running as well, in a few weeks).

blakedev    133
This contest sounds interesting, except for my not being able to think of an original idea :-D

[Edited by - blakedev on August 5, 2007 3:38:47 PM]

rick_appleton    864
Unfortunately I've been unable to get FX Composer 2 to actually run (here). In the hope that somebody might glance at it from here, I'll do the repost thing:

I get the following errors:

---------------------------
Plugin Creation Error
Outer Exception:
ExceptionType: SEHException
Help Line:
Source: Tao.Platform.Windows
StackTrace: at Tao.Platform.Windows.Wgl.wglMakeCurrent(IntPtr deviceContext, IntPtr renderingContext)

at FXComposer.Scene.Render.GlUtils.GLContext.MakeCurrent(Boolean OkWithNullDC) in d:\bld\devtools\FXComposer2\2.0\SDK\TOOLS\src\FXComposer2_NET2\Scene\Render\GlUtils\GLContext.cs:line 278

at FXComposer.Scene.Render.GlUtils.GLContext..ctor() in d:\bld\devtools\FXComposer2\2.0\SDK\TOOLS\src\FXComposer2_NET2\Scene\Render\GlUtils\GLContext.cs:line 167

at FXComposer.Scene.Render.OpenGL.FXRenderDevice_GL.Initialize(Control control, IFXRenderDeviceCallback callback) in d:\bld\devtools\FXComposer2\2.0\SDK\TOOLS\src\FXComposer2_NET2\Devices\OpenGL\FXRenderDevice_GL.cs:line 507