Sign in to follow this  

im new to development!

This topic is 3776 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hello everybody i only have very basic knowledge about development and im asking where to start... ive downloaded a few engines but im not sure what to do and how to do it...

It all depends on what language you like. Me personally I like Java though most people will probably tell you to look for C++ tutorials.

Anyways one of the stickied threads on this forum has all the links to sites with helpful tutorials

Best of luck to ya

I'm assuming STO is Star Trek Online. I'm unfamiliar with SQO, but I'm assuming it is also an MMO.

First, questions regarding MMOs will generally get you laughed off of the face of the earth. Maybe a little harsh, but that's the reality. MMOs are HUGE investments of time and money and require large teams.

Second, since you don't know ANYTHING (again I'm assuming), you might not even be able to create Pong. Tough but true.

Start with something easy. If you make it through that, try something harder.

Game development (and programming in general) is not for everyone.

i mean some free ones like celstart and 3d rad. i didnt say it needed to be a mmo just a multiplayer game or heck even single player. if anyone will help me start a project it would be nice...

First question to get you on the right track is: Do you want to be a programmer?

If so, start by learning a language (most people recommend Python these days)

If not, grab a mod-able engine from whatever genre you are interested in developing for.

But first, read the Forum FAQ

-me

Quote:
Original post by pjwaffle
i mean some free ones like celstart and 3d rad. i didnt say it needed to be a mmo just a multiplayer game or heck even single player. if anyone will help me start a project it would be nice...