Sign in to follow this  

Which Language Should I Learn (c#, c++, JAVA)

This topic is 3773 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've decided that I want to study computer science at university. In the particular course that I'm looking at I work with c#, c++ and JAVA. I've also decided that I want to learn one of the languages before I go (I have a few years yet). Now, I pose the question "Which one shall I learn". I already have had quite a bit of experience in c++ by following a book (C++ in Easy Steps by Mike McGrath), I got about half way through the book before I realised that I have been learning the language for about 3 months and I'm still looking at the same black square with white text as a result. Everytime my parents came in to see what I was coming up with they were also faced with the same square, and their encourgement became.... well, less encouraging. I have also followed a single tutorial on c#. I liked this tutorial because it was much more hands on, and I was able to create a basic application that had a GUI (it was an image loader). JAVA is the language I have had the least amount of experience in, infact all I know is that I was able to right a 'hello world' application in a single line of code.

Well if you've been learning for 3 months there's shouldn't be any reason why you can't do more than just console applications; the fundamentals of c++ are exactly the same you are just use a different library.

Do you want to a make a 2D simple game ? Consider using SDL (Simple DirectMedia Layer) there's loads of documentation and tutorials for it (including some aimmed a newbie programmers) and it has a much nicer interface than dealing directly with DirectX, DirectSound, and DirectInput.