Sign in to follow this  
Ajian

How compatible will a VCD degree be in game/level design?

Been gone for a long time for reasons beyond my control so bare with me if this has already been asked. Currently my major is visual communications design, swapping out from a CS major. I went this route because after talking to a few people, and a few counselors, they seem to think this would translate nicely into the designing aspect of the game industry. I see where they are going with this but honestly, I am a bit leery. I don't want to end up with the wrong degree for the wrong job and start off my career gimped because my university would rather lie to me then loose my tuition payments. The way it was broken down to me is that I could use the tools I learn in this field to better express and show my ideas in a manner that would be easy to bring into a developmental environment. I am not the best artist so this sounded great at the time but as the courses roll by I am constantly bombarded with things from the advertisement aspect of the degree, so I come to you guys to get a 2nd opinion. If you were hiring someone for your creative design team, would someone with a VCD degree and a couple small scale games under his belt even be a bleep on the radar? Or would you pass it up for something else? Any advice would be appreciated. BTW its good to be back working on games!!

It depends entirely on the role with in the design team that you are looking to move into, like any career you are going to be starting at the bottom. Your degree sounds like it would provide you a good foundation for a level designer job, which is a common entry level position in the game industry. It requires creativity, knowledge of graphic design principles, and the ability to make fun visually appealing levels from a set of requirements.