Sign in to follow this  
beebs1

Windows Fibers

Hiya, I've been looking into Windows fibers, and thinking about how they could be used for tasks like AI and scripting in a game. It all seems pretty cool, each AI agent could run from it's own fiber, or perhaps each script. I've never used fibers before though, so I'm just wondering what you folks think about them? Are they suitable for this? I'm also wondering if there are any performance increases to be gained from using fibers? Anyhow, I'd like to implement a fiber-based system component for my project, mostly because I've not used them before, but that's not really a good enough reason on it's own... Any opinions are very welcome, thanks [smile] James.

Quote:
Original post by beebs1
Hiya,

I've been looking into Windows fibers, and thinking about how they could be used for tasks like AI and scripting in a game. It all seems pretty cool, each AI agent could run from it's own fiber, or perhaps each script. I've never used fibers before though, so I'm just wondering what you folks think about them? Are they suitable for this?

I'm also wondering if there are any performance increases to be gained from using fibers?

Anyhow, I'd like to implement a fiber-based system component for my project, mostly because I've not used them before, but that's not really a good enough reason on it's own...

Any opinions are very welcome, thanks [smile]
James.

Fibers are a thing of the past. They are emulated threads that were nearly useful at the time of Windows 3.0. They cost a lot to manage (meaning that you'll get no performance gains), and are inferior to threads in many ways. The 11th commandment is "Thou shall not use fibers".

Use plain threads instead (or give a look to Intel TBB 2.0).

Quote:
Original post by Emmanuel Deloget