Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

steveharper101

.MAP FILES

Hi i have exported a map from worldcraft and have examined the contents of the file. It dosen't contain vertacie data but components that makeup convex regions of brushes. I am unable to understand this. What does it mean by describes a covex plain?? isn't it just arbitary vecters where vertices need to be found. Isn't a plane just any flat surface thats described by the cartseian coordinate system I have seen flipcodes documentation on Map files but the code looks complicating. How do you calculate the vertices from the map data. Please could someone give me a basic outline of what to do as i'm new to 3D. THANKS ALOT STEVE Edited by - steveharper101 on April 20, 2001 3:02:40 PM

Guest Anonymous Poster
Grr, if their is one things that really pisses me off... it''s people that use CAPS in titles.

Ok, WorldCraft = Half Life Editor I think.

Try wotsit.org and have a look for file formats, usually there will be a few different ones. each explains it slightly differently and gives you a better overall idea of what is going on.

Just a tip: If you think the map loading code is complicated... are you sure your ready for 3d?

I take it you don''t know what the map file format is and how it works. I know the other formats. Oh and by the way get use to the title in caps cos it''s gonna stay that way just to piss you off I only left it on by accident.

Hey anonymous

Just a tip: You sure your ready for English?

learn how to spell, and use grammer correctly before you have a go at other people.

Guest Anonymous Poster
There is a couple of ways you can get verticies out of what worldCraft gives you.... read on for more info...

A brush...(or a cube for simplicity sakes) is defined in worldcraft as 6 planes... one corresponding to each face of the cube. Each plane is defined by three points which are on that plane... so first create the planes from the given points