Sign in to follow this  

Learning programming...

This topic is 3746 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am an indy game developer, I've been making games since about 1998, but it was always a problem for me because while I CAN do the art, I CAN do the design, I CAN do the music, I've never been a coder. I read something the other day that said, "If you want to be an indy game developer, you had better know how to code". I can see why. It's difficult being at the mercy of other unpaid people to bring your dream to life. I am very experienced in almost every other field of game development, but there has just been this WALL for me against learning programming. I'm sure that I can do it, it's just I have never gotten to the point where it didn't horribly bore and confuse the hell out of me. I've tried to learn C probably 5 or 6 different times in my life, and more recently I started to TRY pick up Java. Java in particular interests me because the game I'm currently developing is in Java and I'd love to be able to help that along (as well as get advice and help from my programmers). Some have suggested FLASH being that it is easier, I also am familiar with FLASH, just not code-wise. Anyway my question to all of you is, do you have any advice? How did _you_ learn how to code? Do you recommend taking a course? I've bought many books before but just gave up. Any other advice? Thank you very much for listening to my sad tale. It's SO frustrating to be as passionate as I am about games, have a small game idea and not be able to try it out. -Keith Burgun PS. if you want, check out my game here at this post.