• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
AndreiVictor

OpenGL Fixed Function vs. Shaders

This topic is 4111 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all. I'm a noob in 3D graphics programming and I'm just a beginner in OpenGL. I'm in the point of making an engine for a game that I'll make. People say that I should abandon fixed functions and proceed with shaders. Especially now that they say when we use fixed functions, in the background it generates shaders anyway. But, my question is, how do I determine if something is fixed function or shader-based? Again, I am a beginner and I've been using simple OpenGL functions like glBegin, glVertex**, glColor, glLighting, etc. So I can't differentiate what fixed function really is and I've just read about GLSL. Thanks for your help.

Advertisement
That's like asking what the difference is between C++ and Basic...

FF effects are done using API commands. Shaders are special programs written in a shading language and compiled seperately from app code (usually at runtime). Normally they are stored in individual text files.

Quote:
Original post by AndreiVictor
But, my question is, how do I determine if something is fixed function or shader-based? Again, I am a beginner and I've been using simple OpenGL functions like glBegin, glVertex**, glColor, glLighting, etc. So I can't differentiate what fixed function really is and I've just read about GLSL.

Shaders can replace pretty much all of the processing done on individual vertices and pixels
  • as they're actually drawn. This replaces the fixed function stuff like lighting, shading, fog, texture blend modes, texture sampling, and the transformation of vertices.

Things common to both are resource creation (eg. texture creation) and geometry submission (how you actually send the vertices to be drawn, eg. glBegin, glDrawArrays).