Sign in to follow this  

I want to be a game designer!

This topic is 3741 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

How should I go about being a game designer? I'm a somewhat experienced programmer, and I've got a bunch of great ideas for games that I just started writing down! I'm also an experienced gamer. How do I let my employers know that I'm good at game design? I've been thinking about going back to UCSC in their "Game Design" major - is that a good idea, or should I just start applying to companies with no degree as a game designer? I'd post my "great" game designs here, but I'm afraid ya'll will run off with them. :) Is there anything I can do to safeguard against that, so if I really do design the next "Doom" or "Alice" I can ensure that I get paid for it? I know there's lots to designing games; the overview, the starting details, and all the subtle details that develop as the game is developed. I also have enough of a programming background to know what is and is not programmable by an average programmer...are there any game companies reading this, that might be willing to give me a shot as a Game Designer? If you want to see a game I've designed (and started implementing...) you can browse on over to http://amtgard.shop.tm/webmmo ... it's a completely original game, and I hope the intellectual property is protected!

Someone from Santa Cruz wrote:
>How do I let my employers know that I'm good at game design?

Are you employed at a game company now?

>are there any game companies reading this, that might be willing to give me a shot as a Game Designer?

Unlikely at the present time. Do that reading, then ask different questions.