Sign in to follow this  

1 to 1 test for functions

This topic is 3739 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Is there a quick mathematical test for checking whether a function is 1 to 1? I'm going through one of my old calculus books, and in the first chapter I came across inverse functions. Anyway, the suggestion in the text is to use a horizontal line test to figure out whether a function is 1 to 1. ie.) f(x) = x^2 is not one to one because there are two x values for each y value. ie.) f(x) = 2x - 3 is one to one because there is a different result for every input. Anyways being a programmer, I don't really like the idea of having to do a visual check for something like that. I don't want to cycle through all the numbers in the entire domain to find out if it is 1:1. An example being done where the result is that the function is not 1 to 1 would be most helpful. I know this sounds like homework, but I'm not in school and it's really just for my own knowledge.

Well, another way of testing to see if a function is one to one is to check if f(a) == f(b) implies a == b.

So for x2:

a2 = b2
a = ±b

x2 is not one to one.

For 2x - 3:

2a - 3 = 2b - 3
2a = 2b
a = b

2x - 3 is one to one.

Thanks for your help. I really appreciate it.

I saw this in the book too. But, I still don't understand how it can be tested for?

I do see the relationship here and I understand that a squared value could have been either negative or positive originally. My main thought, is that I don't see how I could change that formula into an algorithm (where most of the time I do).

Unless... is the main point here that the definition of a squared value could have been originally + or -? (Meaning that the algorithm would be related in some way to a test of the degree of the polynomial) And if that's the case, how does the given formula help solve the problem?