Am I too old?

Started by
30 comments, last by tonywatts 16 years, 6 months ago
Hey guys! Am I too old to start learning CPP and Opengl? I started learning CPP a few months ago and I bought some books and videos in math. I'm really not that good in math and I was wondering if it's too late 'cause I'm 24 years old. And some dudes were laughin' at me and tellin' me that I can't do it 'cause it's really difficult to learn programming 'cause they also tried it and they all failed. So they ended up taking networking stuff. I put 3 hours in math and a few hours in c++ a day, is that enough? By the time I'm done learning all this maybe I'd be 40 years old, maybe it is too late. How long does it take?!!!. I'm sorry for askin' such stupid questions. THANKS!
Advertisement
Are you attending college?

If you are motivated enough you can do it. It's a tough road but you can do it. You have to feel it in your heart that this is the thing you want to do. Personally I don't even worry about whether I will succeed in the industry (but tell the truth I get depressed thinking about finding a job in the industry, so many good people out there). I'm doing it as a hobby.

Wait, that was a total contradiction... Let me rephrase that. If you really love it and this is what you really want to do, go for it.

No, you're not too old.
A little practice here and there is good. A lot of practice all the time is better. Generally, if you stick with something long enough and you have the motivation and enthusiasm you'll become good enough to do work in the industry soon enough.

Good luck, and have fun!
It's never too late to learn to program. I actually read an article a while ago about an elderly lady (> 80) going to medical school, not the same field, but a good example none the less.

If you worked on it as much as you say you do, and stuck with it, you could probably learn enough to make some games within 2-3 years.