Sign in to follow this  

Am I too old?

This topic is 3740 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys! Am I too old to start learning CPP and Opengl? I started learning CPP a few months ago and I bought some books and videos in math. I'm really not that good in math and I was wondering if it's too late 'cause I'm 24 years old. And some dudes were laughin' at me and tellin' me that I can't do it 'cause it's really difficult to learn programming 'cause they also tried it and they all failed. So they ended up taking networking stuff. I put 3 hours in math and a few hours in c++ a day, is that enough? By the time I'm done learning all this maybe I'd be 40 years old, maybe it is too late. How long does it take?!!!. I'm sorry for askin' such stupid questions. THANKS!

Are you attending college?

If you are motivated enough you can do it. It's a tough road but you can do it. You have to feel it in your heart that this is the thing you want to do. Personally I don't even worry about whether I will succeed in the industry (but tell the truth I get depressed thinking about finding a job in the industry, so many good people out there). I'm doing it as a hobby.

Wait, that was a total contradiction... Let me rephrase that. If you really love it and this is what you really want to do, go for it.

No, you're not too old.
A little practice here and there is good. A lot of practice all the time is better. Generally, if you stick with something long enough and you have the motivation and enthusiasm you'll become good enough to do work in the industry soon enough.

Good luck, and have fun!

It's never too late to learn to program. I actually read an article a while ago about an elderly lady (> 80) going to medical school, not the same field, but a good example none the less.