Sign in to follow this  

Check *IF* two faces intersect

This topic is 3736 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

First, let me apologize if this topic has been covered. Search after search yielded various discussions of how to find WHERE two faces (or ray/face, frustrums, boxes, etc) intersect. I just need to know how to check *IF* two faces intersect. I tried applying some of the info from these other posts to simply return a boolean value, but so far I haven't found any method that seems to work. For responders, can you please tone down the technical speak a bit? I'm a veteran application programmer, but I'm still fresh with 3D programming. My background is mainly in XML/DOM and cracking file formats. I dabble a bit into cryptography, so Math isn't 100% alien to me, but a lot of the 3D terminology still throws me for a loop. TIA- Krypto

A face is simply a collection of edges. Two faces intersect if an edge from one face passes through the other face.

This boils down to two types of tests. First you test each edge of one face against the plane on which the other face lies. If an edge intersects this plane, you need to check if the intersection point is within the other face (since the plane is infinite yet the face is finite). If so, you have a collision. Otherwise, you keep checking edges. If none intersect, you do the whole process again, this time switching the two faces so that you're checking the edges of the second face against the plane of the first face. If nothing intersects this time around, then there is no collision.