Sign in to follow this  

getting started

This topic is 3736 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I would like to get started in game development. My question is what is the best game engine that is good to learn from only requirement is that it is free. C++ is my preferred language Thank you

Starting off with an engine probably isn't the best place for an absolute beginner to learn, you'll need to spend some time working with your chosen language (probably with simply console (i.e. text-based) programs so you aren't overwhelmed by the complexity of whatever engine you choose to work with.

As for engines you could use however I would recommend Haaf's Game Engine or The PopCap Framework. Both are freely available 2d engines you can use with C++.

From what you said I'm presuming that you come from the "normal programming" side of the fence, right? One thing about game programming that you will notice right away is that what seem to be very small problems to solve (programs to write) become hugely complex and hard to manage in a matter of hours. I wouldn't suggest starting game development with HGE (haven't tried PopCap) until you know the ins-and-outs of C++.

This all might be right off the mark and I'm not presuming to know more than you or anything, just a heads up if you weren't already aware. (HGE is VERY good though... if you know C++, unlike me :)

I would also recommend SDL, although it isn't a game engine it is a nice 2D gfx library you can use to build games.