• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
docdoc52

tech writer needs help

This topic is 4018 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a tech writer at a small game company. I have to write a book introducing and explaining our platform to game developers. This book will not discuss APIs. I'm not a programmer or a game developer. I have little support from our busy engineers. I'm looking for the following suggestions: - Any book that describes a platform from the perspective of what a game developer needs to know. - Any suggestions from real game deveopers about what they need to know about a platform. Thanks in advance, docdoc52

Advertisement
We need WAY more information than this to start providing any sort of help. What kind of platform are you talking about? What sorts of developers (indie/small studios/mega corporation/whatever) are you targeting this books towards? Is this something for the programmers to read, or something that designer, producers, and artists would be reading as well?

You are very smart.
The audience is programmers for casual games. The platform is C++. The book I need to write is not for artists, designers or producers.
Thanks for the quick response.

Quote:
The audience is programmers for casual games. The platform is C++. The book I need to write is not for artists, designers or producers.

So, users?

What will the book cover if not API? Is there a GUI? Code snippets? Building blocks? Will it require users to compile the application and write C++ code? If so, then you can't skip the API.

Apparently it's not marketing material, but it will not contain any useful information that would help developers. Does it have some external scripting system?

Does it need to cover installation? Who will provide you with steps and checklists for that?