• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
TheSilverHammer

DirectX 2D questions in C#

This topic is 3920 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I have decided to start tinkering with DirectX and decided to use C#. I am a very good C++ programmer, but I really like the C# language better, and the directX API seems to be so much better. Anyway... I have been trying to mess with sprites for the past 4 or 5 days. I just want to create my own robust set of sprite handling classes. After working through using my own polygons and whatnot, I finally moved to using the Sprite class. AT first I thought this was a directX 10 thing, but now that I know its DX 9 (or earlier) I plan on using it. Anyhow, I have been trying to learn the basics of moving sprites, rotating, scaling, and using alpha maps. For basic positioning and drawing, I was using the Sprite.Draw() function. However that didn't let me rotate the images, so I moved to Draw2D. Then after searching for some other information, I discovered that the Sprite has a .Transform property, so I can use matrixes. Question 1: So, my first question to the experts here, is should I stick with Draw2D or should I drop back down to Draw and use Matrixes? Which is faster? In general, what is the best way of handling scaled, rotated, and translated sprites? Question 2: When I was using just vertexes and making my own polygons, I could use a coordinate system ranging from (-1,-1) to (1,1). This made things nice and easy since I never had to worry about the actual screen size. Now going to the Sprite class, I am back to absolute screen positions. Is there a 'mode' I can switch to go back to using the -1.0 to 1.0 coordinate system? Question 3a: (textures and powers of 2) I have been looking for some textures I can use in a 2D space game. I couldn't find much, but this one site that had a whole bunch