• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
russkii

Writing a match scheduler for a sports game in c#

This topic is 4100 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everyone, I'm a dumb beginner in programming, and just started learning c# a month ago. I've read a few books and followed some tutorials, and am trying to learn more by writing a simple sports management game. I'm stuck at trying to write a scheduler for clubs in a competition. I just need to create a schedule for each season for a given number of clubs, in a home/away format. Seemed easy at first, but the problems were so many that I've been working on this for weeks. I won't go into exact details of my attempt (unless anyone would like me to) - let's just say that my method is very cumbersome, and doesn't work for the second half of the season (where each club that played home before must now play away, and vice versa). Would anyone be so kind as to offer some advice on how to solve this - am I missing something simple? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Advertisement
Would be easier if you posted the attempt, or at least how you intend to store the data.

I can help on the code part but on sports managment you're way beyond me.. ;)

Thanks for the interest, Marius. I will still try to avoid posting the code (it's horribly long, amateurish, and ugly) and will first try to write out an explanation of what I'm trying to do - if you're still interested in seeing the code after this, I'll post it. Sorry in advance for my limited programming vocab.