• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Groot

Feet somewhat wet. What next? (long)

This topic is 4014 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all, I've finished a couple of simple games, using Inform 7 and XNA respectively, and I've made a fair bit of progress on two other somewhat more ambitious projects in XNA. I'm looking for advice on which of several projects I should pursue next. First, background on me and what I've done so far: 1. I do this for fun and to learn for the sake of learning, though I wouldn't mind making a little money. I can draw and paint (oil on canvas), and I'm proficient in Photoshop, OK in Max, learning ZBrush. I studied CompSci for a year in college (APL, Pascal), programmed in the summers (using COBOL!), and have since just programmed for fun -- mostly text-adventure languages like Inform and TADS, but also C, C-sharp. Not much C++ -- the whole pointer thing gives me fits. I can devote as much as 20-25 hours a week to my game-making hobby. 2. I've finished an interactive-fiction game using Inform 7. It's called "The Case of the Missing Monkey Coin." It's been played by, um, three people -- me and my two kids. :) Neither kid has finished it; both got stuck. I probably need to go back to the drawing board to add more hints. But the program works. It even has some graphics. I illustrated about 1/4 of my rooms with simple 2D graphics I whipped up in Illustrator and Photoshop, before it dawned on me to get a Wacom tablet. 3. Likewise, I finished a simple 2D hockey game in XNA (Game Studio Express & C-sharp). You play one stick against an AI stick. The AI stinks, but it does fight back a bit. Even simple AI like this was fun to work on. 4. I implemented some but not all of a 2D checkers game, again using GSE/XNA. The player and AI can move non-Kings fine. My Kings code, um, needs work. Decent graphics, not