• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Akela Xeroxz

Guidelines Required

This topic is 4019 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Introduction & Background Information: Hello, I'm new to the whole community... I'm an ICT Student, but I'm losing intrest into it, I want this to be my hobby, I can't learn game development in school... You learn it by doing it, thats my motto... **Edit::** At the age of 16 I got the diagnose of "autism", not that it matters much... but i thought it was worth mentioning. What I want to make: MMORPG with 3D Graphics Several Skills and unique options Trading Ability Combat System PvP area, not trough whole game I have alot more things I want in it but this is enough to start in my personal view... What I'd like to know: Where to even start? does anybody have any guidelines? What programs would I need? What game-engine? or do I create my own? if so, how? Thank you advance, Akela Xeroxz [Edited by - Akela Xeroxz on September 25, 2007 7:49:53 AM]

Advertisement
Can you program? If so, in what languages? If not, are you willing to learn?

There are no click-and-build game construction tools for MMO* games, so you will need to learn to program to build something like that -- although you can leverage middleware make the process easier, it will still take you some time before you will have sufficient skill even consider developing a persistant world multiplayer game. And that first "M" is almost certainly beyond your reach; the sheer amount of content, quality scalability code, networking resources and (most importantly) marketing you need to attract customers of in that volume is just impractical.