Game Design Question: Where to Render() ?

Started by
4 comments, last by ToohrVyk 16 years, 7 months ago
For my 2D sidescrolling platformer, I am trying to figure out where a Render() member function be located in my object classes or should it be in the main code? TO be more specific, I have say moveable objects like rocks. I have other objects called character (which I use to govern movements, interactions etc for my hero main character) and which I extend into a baddie class to use for enemies and extend/customize with AI for chasing/attacking my character. THe Question is, should I be putting in Render member functions in my object classes or should I be designing them in such a way as to create member functions to provide render details back to the main program loop/engine/(whatever you want to call it) and have it render the scene. I have no experience with this and while trying to figure out what to do, I am unsure of what things to consider and what the best design is. Any thoughts from you folks would be greatly appreciated. Cheers Calvin
Advertisement
Model-View-Controller. An object has a model, which describes its state (where it is, how it moves, and so on), a view, which describes its aspect (how it can be rendered) and a controller (synchronize the model and view, allow external access to the entire object).

I would have the game provide the controller at construction time with a "graphics" object, which is then passed to the view, which registers some kind of avatar (a sprite, a model) within that graphics object. The avatar is then rendered until the view disappears and unregisters it.