• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
dual_horizons

Where do I go from here?

This topic is 4011 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi! I know a little bit of C/C++ and am learning Java at college. Have no knowledge about Windows Programming in C/C++ though. I would like to develop games for Windows platform. What do I need to do now? Do I need to learn Win Programming in C++ or can I continue with Java? And secondly what is the difference between OpenGL and DirectX? Which of those do I need to learn? And do I need to know Win Programming to use them? How long does it take to become comfortable with these? Thanks in advance, dual_horizons.

Advertisement
I have no knowledge of Java as far as game developing goes. I have seen plenty of web games developed in Java but nothing passed that.

From personal experience I would recommend Cpp and DirectX for Windows game development. I suggest you develop a strong foothold with Cpp before starting to learn DirectX. You do need some knowledge of WinAPI in order to use DirectX. Nothing too extensive though.

I would say the main difference between OpenGL and DirectX would be that OpenGL is a cross-platform tool and DirectX is Windows only.

Suggested Books:
to learn beginning Cpp - Beginning Cpp Game Programming
This book a great starting point for aspiring game programmers. It was one of the books we used in my High School Cpp class. My only gripe with the book is that the examples and source have a lot of errors. Make sure you check out the books website to look at the errata documentation. here

to learn DirectX - Introduction to 3D Game Programming with Direct X 9.0c: A Shader Approach
This book covers the basic Win32 stuff you need to know for windows game development in it's Appendix A. I highly recommend this book.

to learn Win32 programming - Programming Windows, Fifth Edition