• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
TooLSHeD

Good OOP and UML

This topic is 4011 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi I'm currently studying Engineering, we've got a project for our software course where we have to create a simple Gyruss clone. Most of the emphasis is on good design and the report, coding counts, but not as much. I'm busy doing the UML design. I'm stuck. I can't get my head around how to structure the classes. The player and enemy classes are relatively easy, they both inherit from a Sprite class and can be implemented quite easily. My problem is with the "management" classes, I've started of with a Window class that handles the window creation and related stuff, I added the main game loop, but then thought: should it be here? shouldn't it be in the Game_Object? should there be a Game_Object? If the main loop is a member how will it interact with all the other objects? They say to stay away from a monolithic design, should I design it to be more lateral? Any suggestions will be appreciated Thanks.

Advertisement
Use the "knows a" relationship (association) to hook things up. The game loop definitely shouldn't be in the window class. Stick to something like model-view-controller.

One thing to think about for having the player derive from sprite.

Is the player a sprite?

Or does the player HAVE A sprite?

Take a look into using composition as opposed to purely Heirarchical.

As for the management problem, you could have a kernel class which spawns off a window object to handle the creating of the window, then communicates with it for handling of the msg loop. That way the kernel is updating your game rather then your window.