• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
lebenski

A Lemmings clone..a reasonable goal for a newbie? Help with planning.

This topic is 3923 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everyone, This is my first post on these forums, however I have been reading and digesting the information on here for a few days now. I am new to Game Programming, not programming in general however. I have a degree in computer science and studied Java in particular. Although not strictly a game, you can see some of my efforts here: www.spheric.eu - A Java Swing based Juggling Simulator and Pattern Creator. I have ordered the book "Game Programming All In One: Third Edition" after spending much time deciding, this one seemed a good introduction to 2D game programming. I plan to work through this book and build the sample games. I'm hoping this will give me a solid grounding for my first game idea, a clone of the classic game Lemmings! Firstly i'd like to hear from anyone who has experience with this book as I havent read it yet. I'm worried that programming in C will get me into bad habits with its non-object oriented nature. I've not programmed C before. Do you think this is a reasonably goal for someone with decent programming (but no game/C) experience? I've had a look at the source for another Lemmings clone "Pingus" (worth a google). This is the kind of standard i'm working for, and its been in on-off development for 9 years, a daunting prospect! How can I get off to the best start to hopefully see my project through to completion in a year (or several!) time? I've started by writing down some of my ideas for gameplay/graphics etc, but feel like I need more of a solid plan. Can anyone give any good advice from experience about planning and design? I feel that art is certainly my week point. Should I consider tackling this first? I've read lots of