A question for and about my competitors

Started by
7 comments, last by Renegader_bj 16 years, 6 months ago
Hi guys, I'm kind of a noob on this site, but I like the looks of the 4E contest,and I have a question. I am a fairly competent C++/Directx programmer, although I'm not particularly advanced or largely experienced. I have developed a small game engine which is a fairly good feat for me, and I was just wondering if you guys think its foolish of me to try at this stage in my,ermm, career. I know its never foolish to try, but how much experience do you guys have? I won't have a team but I will have a custom engine... I would expect to get creamed, but do you guys think its worth a try anyway?
Advertisement
I can think of no reason whatsoever to not enter. Except for not having an entry.

So, I can think of no reason whatsoever to not seriously attempt an entry. It provides experience, exposure, satisfaction, (mostly) helpful commentary and suggestions from your peers. And quite likely other tangible and intangible benefits I have failed to think of in the last minute or so.
If you are going to make a game anyways, might as well do it for a contest. Who knows, you might put together a great game and win. Either way you still get the experience and it's one more thing you can say you did.
I think it this case, as you said, it never hurts to try! I don't even have as much experience as you, but I'm still going to try. Fail or succeed, you're sure to learn something :)
I'm a teenager making my game in between homework, so I probably don't stand a chance anyways, but who cares? It'll be fun.
Quote:Original post by Rodin
I'm a teenager making my game in between homework, so I probably don't stand a chance anyways, but who cares? It'll be fun.