• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Sereth

A question for those in the industry

This topic is 4009 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all, I'm pretty new to programming both game and otherwise. Long story but I'm a college student and recently switched my major to computer science, and I'm sort of realizing that my school doesn't have a particularly good program. It isn't necessarily bad, but it's not great either. I was thinking about maybe trying to transfer to another school in a year or so. I was wondering, for those of you who have jobs in game development and maybe see new people coming in, how much of a difference does the school make in the long run? I was also wondering about how beneficial game development schools or programs in schools really are? I was looking at the program at Devry but it seems like I could end up pigeon-holing myself if I do that. Any suggestions or opinions would be greatly appreciated, I'm really not sure what would be best. Much thanks to anyone willing to offer some wisdom

Advertisement
In the end it doesn't really matter what school you go to. What is important is that you make sure that your own skills are up to par. Different companies will run you through different tests, but some of the things you'll expect to see are being able to do relatively complex calculation in your head over the phone, work up algorithms in C++ on a white board in front of your future coworkers, etc. If you know your stuff, you know your stuff. Where you got your degree from doesn't really matter.

Work on making sure you know how to program and you know how to program well. Make games and focus on writing code that just doesn't get the job done, but gets it done eloquently.