Sign in to follow this  

I want to make a 3D game...

This topic is 3727 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I wish to make a 3D game without having to type or learn any programming... but i still want to design my characters, props, maps, etc. What tools do i need to use this? i've made maps for counter-strike: source before... is there a tool from valve that lets me do what i want? Thanks! sorry for the questions, i'm only a noob... Mortagen

What you're asking for is what most newbie programmers/game developers ask for a lot it is "Hey, I want to make a 3D game without doing absolutely to near to nothing" but the thing is game design, especially 3d game programming is nothing more than programming.

So here is my advice.

1.) First download GameMaker just to see how you start making 2d games. (My advice is you can't really understand the 3d world until you understand the 2d world)

2.) Learn Basic, JustBasic and see how programming starts out to be

3.) Once you're comfortable with what programming is, and the idea of game making in the 2d world do your research on what game development really is, what programming really is, and research the different languages that are out there. You'll probably find C#, C++, Java, Basic, Assembly, Delphi, Python, javascript, (Not all for game programming)

4.) Do your research in that language learn what it is, and pick another if you wish.

5.) Code each day, design games each day (not necessarily making games a day, but just learning game design, and learning programming and applying what you learn in programming for game design and vice versa is a good idea)

6.) Start making some goals first like a pong game, and then maybe a tetris, or pacman game, or a mastermind game, and then just work your way up from there