Sign in to follow this  

how to do color blending on specific texture coordinate using shader

This topic is 3726 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hello, I am new to shader,need your help. I want to do color blending on specific texture coordinate,using shaders, which is: for texture1 : get part of texture from texture1 coordinate: 0-0.1 for texture2 : get part of texture from texture2 coordinate: 0.9-1 blend these two parts of texture, and save to texture 1 (0-0.1) and texture 2 (0.9-1) This is a normal edge blending algorithm, but I don't know if I use shaders, how can I do it. The most problem is that I don't know how to look up different texture coordinates at the same time. Thanks everyone!

I'm not sure that I fully understand what you want to do, but I'll give it a try.

You can only read one color value at once, so you need multiple reads.

For reading just from 2 coordinates that you provide as a parameter to the shader, you'd do (I'm using CG here, so please check the correct syntax for GLSL):

float4 col1 = tex2d(texture1, texcoord1);
float4 col2 = tex2d(texture2, texcoord2);

You then blend col1 and col2 and process the result further (e.g. write it to one or more render targets).

Additionally, you could use an if statement to only blend if (texcoord1 >= 0 and texcoord1 <= 0.1) and (texcoord2 >= 0.9 and texcoord2 <= 1).

Quote:
Original post by Lord_Evil
I'm not sure that I fully understand what you want to do, but I'll give it a try.

You can only read one color value at once, so you need multiple reads.

For reading just from 2 coordinates that you provide as a parameter to the shader, you'd do (I'm using CG here, so please check the correct syntax for GLSL):

float4 col1 = tex2d(texture1, texcoord1);
float4 col2 = tex2d(texture2, texcoord2);