Sign in to follow this  

Just Need Some Programming Language Advice

This topic is 3715 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been programming for a few years now in BlitzPlus (BlitzBasic) and have a good grasp of it, i also have begginer knowledge in C, Java, and Python. I really wanna work on a Complete RPG that will eventually be 3D (even if i have to write a 2d version and upgrade to a 3D). I've created an extremely basic 2D Rpg and i'm ready to make an investment in another language and software to make this game. I would just really like any advice on a good language, or system to use. would it be better for me to get something like Blitz3D or maybe Torque Engine Builder? or just dive into C++? Thanks for any of your help EDIT : I just really dont want to invest my time/money in a language/program and have to change later

Quote:
Original post by jah2488
I just really dont want to invest my time/money in a language/program and have to change later

Well, quit programming then, because you will never find the one Final Solution™ language. I know over 12 programming languages, and I will probably learn more eventually.

Anyway, to answer your immediate question: pick either Java or Python. Why? Because you already know a little bit of them. C is not an option because of the number of facilities missing from the language itself. You'll spend too much time implementing features you get for free from Java and Python.

Which one of them? It really doesn't matter. There are trade-offs that make them roughly even.

thanks, i know your right i'll never find one perfect language, its all part of the learning process, but i just didn't want to end up changing languages in the middle of my current project. :]

Yah i think i'm gonna go with python, i've been able to find a few more resources on it than Java

thx again for the help