Sign in to follow this  

New to Forum... some questions

This topic is 3730 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello All, I am new to this forum and so far it looks great; their is truly a wealth of information here and I look forward to attempting to digest it all. I just wanted to introduce myself and maybe get some advice. ______________________________________________________________________________ WARNING: Long post. CLIFF NOTES: I am a novice programmer. I am concerned about organization and efficient use of OOP. ______________________________________________________________________________ My background: I am a novice programmer. I started learning basic when I was about 10 yrs old. i convinced my mother to buy me turbo C++ shortly thereafter and attempted to learn C/C++. Fast forward 20 years: I have used assembly, C, C++, and Matlab over the years to write code to solve problems (engineering). Now I am just programming as a hobby using C++ and the SDL library to make a game that I have envisioned in my head. Current situation: I am starting with small steps. I have re-read my C++ manuals and have familiarized myself with programming once again. I am using the SDL library for easy graphic implementation. I am making a "tile-based" game: there is a board (for example, the squares on a chess board) and moving pieces that interact with the board and each other. Some questions: 1. I am trying to stay organized and write code that doesn't confuse the reader (me) and is modular (so that size and complexity issues can be resolved). What is the best way to modularize it? What I am currently doing is calling a function in the main program called gameloop. This function gameloop is the loop of the game. I then call my various game functions in this loop. Each function/class has a header file and a .cpp file associated with it. I