Sign in to follow this  

A question about developing 3d art components

This topic is 3724 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey. I'm a programmer, but have been researching how all the 3D components come together in a video game project. I'm aware that there are commercial 3d software products such as Maya and 3ds Max, but I've also noticed that commercial engines such as Unreal come with a 3d editor. What would a team of 3d artists use? Would they use the stand-alone software, or the built-in editor included in a commercial engine? Do they use both? If so, I would love to know how, and would love to be enlightened with any knowledge bombs that you guys would like to drop on me. Hope this doesn't seem to noobish. Like I said, I'm just a programmer. Thanks in advance for your replies!

Well, the 3D editor in the Unreal engine is mainly to build game levels (if I am not mistaken). As for game models (characters, etc.) they probably use 3ds Max or some similar tool. As for what specific tools they actually use, it depends on the company, the team, the capabilities of the engine and what the artists actually know how to use. Technically it is possible to do everything (levels, models, etc.) in a high end modeling program like 3ds Max. If you want to go on the free side of things, Blender is really good but it takes some time to get used to.

Quote:
Original post by Ishioma