Sign in to follow this  

Programming is literally KILLING me

This topic is 3727 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Well I started learning programming 2 years ago from a site called cprogramming.com From that point, I was self taught and I never had any tutors, but I did use books and online tutorials to help teach myself. Back then, I was learning so much about programming and how I could make such wonderful programs. Now, I don't even think that way anymore. Why? Well, now I'm hardly making any progress at all. I'll try to tell you what I did, and then maybe you can see what I did wrong during my journey of programming. Ok, I'll start. I learned programming for 1 month, then I worked on my text rpg for the next 8 months, that was the time that it took to finish it. During that time, I barely used any lessons from programming sites at all, but I did learn a lot from making that project, which gave me enough experience to start windows programming. At first I was kind of clumsy in programming Win32, but I eventually got better and learned many new kinds of techniques that I could use. Along with that, my design skills improved as well, but then later I found out that the tutorials I found on the site winprog.org were from 1998, which disappointed me very much. So I decided it was no longer a good idea to learn Win32, therefore I went straight to learning DirectX, with only about 1 year experience in programming. Now, this is where the most serious problems come up. So I got a book on how to learn to program an RPG in DirectX 8, but at the end of learning D3D, I couldn't even draw a simple shape. Most of the features I learned also didn't work, and therefore I thought that D3D was very confusing. Then I skipped the rest of the D3D chapter and went on to learn DInput, and I had no problems. But during learning DSound, I was so c