Sign in to follow this  
wendigo23

Am I getting screwed in the transition from contractor to employee?

wendigo23    512
Hello forums, long time no post. I've been working at company X for 3.5 years as a contractor. For legal reasons they've asked me to become an employee, paid hourly like I'm used to (also because I haven't worked full time in 3 years). Payroll takes one week to process and they don't want to predict that week's hours, so my paychecks will always be one week behind. Normal salaried employees are paid up to and including the day of payment every pay period, and in my previous life as a contractor I was paid (generally) the day after I turned in my invoice. But now, with this one week delay it's like they'll be holding one week of pay hostage, as the one week rolls from pay period to pay period, until I quit and recieve my last paycheck, where that week will finally show up. Am I crazy for thinking I'm getting screwed as soon as I become and employee? That week of pay could be invested or used as a down payment on a house.

frob    44908
No, that is typical corporate workings. It is easier on the book keepers to handle it the way they do, especially taking in to account issues like sick leave and vacation hours that are submitted late. Just be glad they are on a two week cycle. It is normal to complete the end of the first work cycle then get a check on the next payday. Some places are on a one month pay cycle (schools are notorious). With a one month cycle, it can be as much as 60 days of work before you see a paycheck.

Actually, your contracting experience sounds atypical. Back in my contracting days we had net-10 or net-30 payment, or pay in advance for the less-than-reputable people.

As far as getting screwed because you are an employee, that is your own decision to make based on your own negotiation skills and world view.

Oluseyi    2103