Sign in to follow this  

CreateRenderTarget fails ocasionally - should I reset?

This topic is 3718 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have an application where CreateRenderTarget fails occasionally (the arguments used are exactly the same). Should I reset the device when this happens? Will the meshes have to be recreated if I reset the device?

Why does it fail? What error code does CreateRenderTarget return? Since it will be place in the default memory it may be a memory issue. And if your meshes are created there as well you need to create those again after reset.

I'm no expert but a reset seems pretty harsh. Maybe something else could be changed(release something you do not use perhaps) to make CreateRenderTarget succeed every time.

Quote:
Original post by Constantin
I have an application where CreateRenderTarget fails occasionally (the arguments used are exactly the same). Should
I reset the device when this happens? Will the meshes have to be recreated if
I reset the device?

How often is occasionally? Once a second? Once an hour?

Are you calling CreateRenderTarget every frame? Any chance you're out of video memory? Any debug output (if you're using the debug runtimes)?

I keep creating and recreating render targets because I need them
at different dimensions each time. Other than release, what else do I need
to call to cleanup previously created render targets? And how do I release
those that I have set into the device using SetRenderTarget?