Sign in to follow this  
RubyNL

Realtime raytracing with fixed point math

Hello I'm trying to do fixed point math. Can you help me a bit, I'm not that good at fixed point math. I can use it but not with fractals and raytracing. Does anyone have experience with it? I'm using QBASIC. And only software rendering. (that may sound fool to you :P). Anyway, I use 16-bit integers, but I keep on having overflow errors. Hope you can help me.

Uh, that's not much of a question. Fixed-point is constant juggling of precision, there are no easy ways around it.

I remember floating point in QBasic being ridiculously slow on my 386, but that machine lacked floating point hardware. Surely there's some version of QBasic, or PowerBasic or whatever, you can use which handles it decently?

Also, DEFINT A-Z FTW! (man, I thought I had buried those BASIC memories long ago)

With only 16 bits of precisions it's clear that you would get overflow problems. Use a 32 bit integer instead. A 32 bit integer is the processors native data type and thus it will also be faster with 32 bit ints versus 16 bit ints.
Also, for ray tracing I would never use fixed point math. It's to troublesome because of the precision problems and using floating point is most likely faster anyway. And without SSE and other optimizations you will never get to realtime raytracing.

Quote:
Original post by Trenki
With only 16 bits of precisions it's clear that you would get overflow problems. Use a 32 bit integer instead. A 32 bit integer is the processors native data type and thus it will also be faster with 32 bit ints versus 16 bit ints.
Not in a 16-bit QBASIC environment it won't be. Of course you'll still need the occasional long integer but if speed is an issue (obviously, otherwise he wouldn't be using fixed-point) then keep to 16-bit precision. Of course switching to a modern version of PowerBasic, or FreeBasic or even VB.NET would give you far better performance on modern systems anyway.