Sign in to follow this  
InsaneBoarder234

[java] Java for game dev?

I'm studying java as part of my university course so I was thinking about doing a 4e6 entry in java in order to boost and strengthen my skills. I already have a fairly good understanding of C/C++ so that side of things isn't a problem, I'm just wondering what other people think of java with regards to game development? What is it like performance wise? Are there many (any?) "libraries" out there to aid in java game development? If it matters at all, I don't plan on doing any kind of 3D graphics for this project if it goes ahead.

SimonForsman    7642
Quote:
Original post by InsaneBoarder234
I'm studying java as part of my university course so I was thinking about doing a 4e6 entry in java in order to boost and strengthen my skills. I already have a fairly good understanding of C/C++ so that side of things isn't a problem, I'm just wondering what other people think of java with regards to game development? What is it like performance wise? Are there many (any?) "libraries" out there to aid in java game development?

If it matters at all, I don't plan on doing any kind of 3D graphics for this project if it goes ahead.

performance is(or was, havn't looked in quite some time) slightly behind .NET and a bit ahead of mono(or atleast it was last time i looked at mono). (if you're using suns JVM , i don't know how the others perform). Either way both .NET and Java was fast enough last time i looked and should be more than fine today.

As for libraries you probably want to look at LWJGL (bindings for OpenGL and OpenAL) (There are ofcourse other libraries aswell as some engines you can use)
(Oh , and despite what some people say, LWJGL works fine in applets or with Java webstart aswell (you just get a security warning since LWJGL executes largely outside the VM))