Sign in to follow this  
Protomin

How can I have SDL show a variable on the screen?

I just started learning SDL a while ago, so I don't know much about it, but how could I have it show a number on a screen that is going to keep on changing. To be more specific, I'm trying to make Pong right now. I have everything done except for it showing the score at the top. How would I do that? I'm following LazyFoo's tutorials right now, and to show text on the screen he says to do this:
message = TTF_RenderText_Solid( font, "The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy hound", textColor );
Then use your apply_surface message and apply 'message' to the screen. I tried doing that but instead of putting text for the second argument, I just put the variable where I have the score at. But that didn't work. So what is an easy way to do this? I would just have it blit a new surface on the screen each having a different number where the text goes, but that is big, long and complicated. Plus later on if I tried to make another game with a more complicated scoring system, that way wouldn't really work... So I'd rather learn how to do it the good way now. >___>

I'm assuming C++ since you didn't specify. There are ways of achieving this in C too.

You are familiar with std::cout and std::cin? The Standard C++ Library comes with a number of other useful iostream classes that can be used in the same way. You might know fstreams, which allow us to read and write to files.

The important one in this situation is stringstream. It does exactly what it says, it treats a memory string as something we can read and write from.

#include <sstream>

// turn an int into a string
std::string example_toString( int x )
{
std::stringstream stream;
stream << x;
std::string retval;
stream >> retval;
return retval;
}

We can improve on this, as std::stringstream has a member function str() which returns a string object:

#include <sstream>

// turn an int into a string
std::string example_toString( int x )
{