Sign in to follow this  

Cin Structure

This topic is 3715 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey, as I posted in another post; I am a beginner programmer and just started learning C++. I was fooling around with it and im trying to write a simple program where I can use Cin to input numbers and add them with already set variables. What is the whole structure of such a program, What kind of header and main function....and so on. Just to make myself clearer im trying to do this: float num1; float num2; float total; total = num1 + num2 cout << "Enter number" cin >> num1 and so on...and im having a hard time, so whats the set up?

Well, first you think what you do need?

Well, you obviously need iostream. Now what variables do you need? You described that up top. 3 variables. The first number, second number, and total of them added up.

Now, you need to process input. You process the first number. Then, the second number. The total is the first number they entered + the second number they entered. You would then want to output the total variable.

float num1;
float num2;
float total;

cin>>num1;
cin>>num2;
total=num1+num2;
cout<<total;

Just a little example to give you a head start.

Chad

Thank you chad, well I wrote this and it worked. Can anyone tell me if they see any bad habits in the code?

#include <iostream>

int main()
{

float num1;
float num2;
float total;

std::cout <<"Enter first number ";
std::cin >> num1;
std::cout << "Enter second number ";
std::cin >> num2;

total = num1 + num2;

std::cout << "The answer is " << total << std::endl;

}

Quote:
Original post by GamerTom
Thank you chad, well I wrote this and it worked. Can anyone tell me if they see any bad habits in the code?

#include <iostream>

int main()
{

float num1;
float num2;
float total;

total = num1 + num2;