• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Assembly coding with DirectX

This topic is 3736 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everybody: I'm new to GameDev.net and this is my very first forum post. I'm a computer engineering student and my ultimate purpose in life is to become a great game developer and to create my own video game company. However, my university does not focus on certain API's or languages. Rather, the learning program is centered around the major components of the computer sciences, regardless of the plattform or market niche. That's why we are forced to learn the nooks and crannies of the different API's and languages on our own, though based on the strong conceptual and architectural foundations taught to us in the classrooms. So, I've enforced myself into learning various languages and API's in order to broaden my action scope. This way, I've learned languages such as VBScript, SQL, Java, javascript and so on. I've also researched in API's such as J2SE, J2ME and a bit of Win32. Right now, I'm starting research on the DirectX API, and I've realized that it's crafted in C++. This lengthy introduction leads to my primary question: Seeing as how C++ is compiled to native code and therefore can be used in conjuction with Assembly-coded routines, I was wondering if this could be possible with applications using DirectX. Maybe the question should be put the other way around: Could I use DirectX in appications programmed in Assembly code? I know that programming in Assembly is rather stupid these days, but it will always be true that the Assembly code is much more powerful than any high-level language, and therefore allows the developer to wield an immense programming power and more often than not, more efficient coding, both in terms of time and resources usage. I know it's a bit long (and maybe pointless) quest