• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
sciquaker

subdivision surface rendering through pipeline?

This topic is 4010 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everybody, I'm a graduate sutdent in China. My research topic is accelerating subdivision surface rendering quality and speed by multi-core CPU and GPU shaders(with textures).But I'm not quite clear about the whole detailed procedures have been taken during rendering? Does it has any difference compared with built-in primitives? I plan to implement my results on opengl for game developments. Thanks for your answers :)

Advertisement
Basically you just have to iteratively subdivide each mesh some finite number of times before rendering. You'd have to do the subdivision on the CPU...then you just render as normal. I can't think how any shaders would be useful...

Thanks for your answer!

The calculation of subdivision is topology locally, so it will be faster when compute it by fragment shaders(mesh stored in texture, and multiple faces can be computed at the same time).

Ok theoretically I see that if you pass the mesh in as a 3D texture or something you could compute the subdivision locally, but...first of all you cannot change the profile of the object. Normally when you do subdiv surface and start with a cube, you end up with a sphere, so changing the profile is important. Also, although it is "local", that region of locality is going to grow with each subdivision...and its local based on neighboring VERTICES not pixels, so your region of influence could be hundreds of pixels

Quote:
Original post by sciquaker
My research topic is accelerating subdivision surface rendering quality and speed by multi-core CPU and GPU shaders(with textures).But I'm not quite clear about the whole detailed procedures have been taken during rendering?