Skinning a model in milkshape

Started by
2 comments, last by LavaBall 16 years, 5 months ago
Hi I am very new to milkshape and I just started it, I've learned how to make animations trough joints and etc...(Altough I need to learn more about that) Anyway my question is how do I skin a model? Like making a skin.tga? I am trying to make a model for Sauerbraten but I don't know how to make a skin.tga for the model, I need to do so in order to texture the model Thanks in advance.
Clock Tower:GhostHead
Advertisement
Isn't TGA just a format simialr to others like PNG, and can be created with image programs, GIMP etc.
I own Milkshape but I don't know what image formats it supports off the top of my head.

"Sauerbraten"
Does that mean sour sausage?
Hey there, .tga is indeed an image format like .bmp, or .pcx, .jpg...etc. MS3D supports a lot of formats, including (my preferred format) .tga...

Anyways I think we've got a miscommunication, by your references to an image file I assume by 'skin' you mean 'unwrap and texture' your model. 'Skinning' is a term typically referring to the rendering of the model in real-time by transforming the model's vertices by it's animation and skeleton.

Milskape3D does not support unwrapping models, what you'll need to do is get another program [ google for UV Unwrap, there are many others out there ] and layout all your triangles onto a blank texture page. There are probably tutorials on this all over the web, so I'll save the energy.

Once you get your triangles layed out in a satisfactory way, you save the layout to an image file and load it into your favorite image editing program. Then you can paint all over the triangle outlines. You'll see what I mean if you google for the tool I suggested above.