• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Beginner Mac Question

This topic is 3736 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been programming for many years, mostly in Java and C++, in fact I study CS at the University of Colorado. I've recently really have become interested in gamedev, but I'm not sure where to start. Unfortunately, most of the tutorials I've found are all windows based. What free frameworks are available for mac game dev? I figure I'll write my own one day, but would like to start from a high level perspective. Where can I find source code for some simple games like tetris for Mac? Are there any good books on Mac gamedev? I've heard about Mac Game Programming or something like it, but it has gotten fairly poor reviews. Thanks James

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by Hammonjj
I've been programming for many years, mostly in Java and C++, in fact I study CS at the University of Colorado. I've recently really have become interested in gamedev, but I'm not sure where to start. Unfortunately, most of the tutorials I've found are all windows based.

What free frameworks are available for mac game dev? I figure I'll write my own one day, but would like to start from a high level perspective.
SDL and OpenGL and the like should work fine on Mac OS X.

Quote:
Where can I find source code for some simple games like tetris for Mac?
The games themselves shouldn't be platform-dependent, and learning from source code is a very bad method. The Python and Pygame resources that the other new users are getting pointed to should work fine on Mac OS X.

Quote:
Are there any good books on Mac gamedev? I've heard about Mac Game Programming or something like it, but it has gotten fairly poor reviews.