• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

LPD3DXSPRITE

This topic is 3763 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello! Right then it's been a long hard day and I need a break, but before I do I need some help as I can't seem to spot what I'm doing wrong here, but hopefully you fine chaps might be able to! Jolly good! :) Ok, I'm attempting to use LPD3DXSPRITE for the basis of my game, but before that i'm learn the basics on DX as i've never done it before...basically I want to be able to load in any size of image and use that as my texture, but scale it to any size (1-N), position it but the sprites local 0,0 must be in it's center (not in the example below tho, this is for a background image). Here the code below so you can get an idea of WHAT i'm trying to do:

// Draw with alpha blending - needed for our transparent sprites
		gSprite->Begin(D3DXSPRITE_ALPHABLEND);

// Sprite is 64x64 in size
		RECT drawRect;

drawRect.left   = 0;
		drawRect.right  = 64; // Width
		drawRect.top    = 0;
		drawRect.bottom = 64; // Height

// Screen dimensions = 800 x 600

D3DXVECTOR2 scale( 1.0f/64.0f, 1.0f/64.0f ); // Scale the sprite down to size of 1 local to the screen
		D3DXVECTOR2 scale2( 800.0f, 600.0f );		 // I want the sprite to cover the whole screen for my background image
		D3DXVECTOR2 scale3;

// Multiply the two scale vector objects to scale it to fit the screen
		scale3.x = scale.x * scale2.x;
		scale3.y = scale.y * scale2.y;

// Position the image from 0,0
		D3DXVECTOR2 pos = D3DXVECTOR2( 0.0f, 0.0f );

// Matrix to pass to the sprites transform function
		D3DXMATRIX mat;

D3DXMatrixTransformation2D( &mat, // out
					    &D3DXVECTOR2( 0.0f, 0.0f ),
                                             0.0f,     // scaling rotation
					    &scale3,  // scaling
					    NULL,  // rotation center
					    0.0f,  // rotation